top of page
  • Writer's pictureHarsha Prashanth

A folk tale: How the Squirrel got its Stripes

You must have heard of this Folktale from the Ramayana where Rama gives the squirrel blessings by stroking it and leaving it with three white stripes. I have rewritten this folktale in my own way.


This story is set in the forests of Uttrakhand, in Northern India, where there are many Oak trees. These forests were very cool, as they were located in the foothills of the Himalayas.


A tiny little squirrel was scurrying looking for food. Squirrels in those days were a dull greyish-black colour with a furry tail, but did not have the distinct stripes. The squirrel had every good quality an animal wanted. It was an honest, kind, sharing, little being that harmed no one and nothing.


As it was walking by, the squirrel saw a very old oak tree with lots of dark leaves. It looked closer and saw acorns hanging on a branch. Seeing the acorn the squirrel thought, “I have never eaten this nut before. It looks very tasty, let me try it”. The squirrel was about to climb up the tree when a large branch came and scooped it up. The squirrel looked up at the tree and saw that it had sprouted eyes. It was a living tree!


“Who dare wakes me from my slumber!” said the tree in its booming voice, “Is it you, puny creature?”

“Yes I did wake you up”, said the squirrel, “But I didn’t mean to, I just wanted to get that little acorn hanging on your branch.”

“Hmm….” Said the tree. “Alright, you may have the acorn on one condition. I will ask you three riddles. For each riddle you answer rightly you will get an acorn. Do you agree?”

“Yes I do, O mighty tree”, answered the squirrel.


 

“The first riddle, puny creature”, said the tree. “Who would you as friends - a fun loving friend or a wise friend?”

“Hmm…” thought the squirrel. He then said “I would like to be with a wise friend, who will guide me always”.

 

“The second riddle, puny creature”, said the tree. “What is the most satisfying meal you have ever had?”

Again the squirrel thought and said “I remember the berries that I had and shared them with my friends, rat and grasshopper. That was the most satisfying meal I have ever had”. “Great answer”, said the tree and another acorn fell on the squirrel’s back and left another white line.

 

“The third and final riddle, puny creature”, said the tree, “If you have lots of delicious berries, and suddenly a stranger comes hungry and tired asking for food, what will you do?”

“I would love to share, O mighty tree” said the squirrel without thinking.

“And yet again, great answer!” and another acorn fell on the squirrel’s back and left the last white line.

 

The squirrel gathered its acorns, thanked the tree and turned to go. The Tree then said, “Little squirrel, you are a wonderful little creature. You and your friends can climb my branches any time and feast on my acorns! Just remember to leave some for the bird friends who also like them!”


And since then, squirrels have those three distinct white stripes on their back and go nuts on acorns!

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

A Touching Tail

I have a cat in mind. His name is Dochi, and he is the king of all cats. This is the story of how a young kitten changed the course of my...

Comments


bottom of page