top of page
  • Writer's pictureHarsha Prashanth

Book Review: So You Want to Know About Economics

Updated: Apr 11, 2021

An interesting book for children that makes the boring topic of Economics into a fun read. Authored by Roopa Pai.


Economics, a subject that’s about money and the world. Represented in weird line charts that go up and down, profits and losses, Government taxes and income. All these are defined in one word – BORING. Any idea how to make Eeecooonomics more fun? Actually, there is one way.


Let me tell you about this book – ‘So you want to know about Economics’ by Roopa Pai.





When I was told that the book was being delivered to me was about Economics, I was like – ‘You mean those things they discuss about on the ET Now channel? That market guy that my grandfather watches? But isn’t that stuff only for adults??


Roopa Pai Rocks!

My questions were answered by this book by Roopa Pai. I had read two other books of hers earlier and I had also reviewed one (Vedas and Upanishads for Children). I knew that this book would be more interesting than just boring economics. I like Roopa Pai’s way of taking a boring, serious subject and lightening it up making it more fun with real life examples and jokes. Almost three-fourth of the book are full of concepts shown with such examples. It makes it easier to understand, rather than just saying factual things.


First Thoughts

The book explains why we should understand economics, and how the world was before the subject was a thing. From ruthless mercantilism to Adam Smith’s free trade, all is explained. I understood how the amount of money the Government prints can affect the retailers and buyers. And I was very fascinated about the humans have gotten more creative over the year. From simple bartering to paper money and then digital money! Wow right?


Becoming Grammarly

I also learnt a lot of new words, related to economics of course. Roopa Pai divides the subject into two parts – Macroeconomic (what countries think about when they think of economics) and Microeconomics (what you and I think about economics). Each country also uses different types of economy, ours in India is a mixed economy which means a bit of ‘market economy’ and ‘command economy’. Which basically means, that some things are controlled by the Government and some by us people.





Another thing that makes this book fun to read are the illustrations by Mohit Suneja. The first thing I do when I start reading a book is look at the cover for some time. The cover for this book is illustrated with different little drawings – food, currency, humans, money and others. While reading the book too, there are little illustrations on the side that explain whole concepts. Mohit Suneja has done a great job with illustrations!


I have also done a book review of Roopa Pai's other book - Vedas and Upanishads for Children - on my Instagram handle. Do check it out.

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page