top of page
  • Writer's pictureHarsha Prashanth

Home Sweet Home!

As usual, every morning was spent at my sweet smelling bush home. The newly tarred road, on the sides of where my home was, was bustling with human activity. People were stamp- stamping towards local cafes and coconut water stalls or going to the Elliot's Beach in Chennai. I am a leaf and to us leaves, your 'walking' will sound like giants walking. And it's a pity that you humans don't say, 'Fee-Fi-Fo-Fum' like a real giant.





Never mind all of that. As I watched hanging on my bush, I was suddenly lifted up and swept away by some unknown force. I went up high in the sky, higher than a tree, or a Chennai flat or even higher than a crow's altitude! I looked down and saw a neon green bicycle which was probably why I was lifted off the ground. But actually I enjoyed gliding in the air, so I soared up higher and higher and felt the wind trying to push me down, but I glided in such way, it supported me. Did I mention I passed my leaf-glider's -ed with full marks?

All I could see was a clear blue sky, until a white dome shaped object started to show up in my sight. The most well known dome shaped monument in India... You guessed it, The Taj Mahal! It was a spectacular view from the sky. I could see the sun shining on the crystal clear white marble surface which made the monument glow. Below there were well trimmed trees that looked like pointed green daggers from my view. And in the middle there was a big fountain. It truly was an amazing sight.


But it wasn't over yet. After a few minutes, I noticed a slithery structure curving and twisting below. I glided a bit further down, and got a clearer view... of The Great Wall of China! From top view, it looked like a slithery bridge, and around it was endless greenery. I could see tiny little dots walking up and down, which were humans of course. A little girl looked up and noticed me fluttering in the air. She waved and I waved back. I smiled and thought " Time to go".


The next few minutes or hours (honestly, I did not know what the time was), all I could see was clouds and clouds. But after a while, I suddenly banged into what seemed like a very hard metal structure. it had a criss-cross iron pattern; and when I looked up it was getting slimmer and slimmer, and was scraping the sky. I took a good look and realized that I had come all the way to France to find myself getting a quite hard souvenir of the Eiffel Tower!


I had really wanted to gaze at the tower for a little bit longer, but the wind had swept me up very high. So high that all I could see were clouds. I was getting close to space and started to feel dizzy. Oxygen was very rarely found this high up. Just when I thought that this would be my end, I was roughly pushed down and plummeted through the clouds; but the push was getting weaker as I was going more downwards.


So, finally, with a gentle 'plop', I landed on a warm and soft little bowl of 'Payasam'. I looked around and was filled with joy. It was 'Ganesh Chaturti' at home. I had landed on a bowl of Payasam which was next to a plate of 'Modakams' and rice.





The boy in the house, whose name was Harsha, saw me land, just as how a normal tulsi leaf should top the food of any 'Puja'. He immediately felt his brain gears moving and rushed to his table to open his writing book.


I was back home... Home Sweet Home!



Recent Posts

See All

A Touching Tail

I have a cat in mind. His name is Dochi, and he is the king of all cats. This is the story of how a young kitten changed the course of my...

1 comentario


Ganesh R
Ganesh R
22 jul 2021

Excellent

Me gusta
bottom of page